Question: How Do I Delete Photos From My Phone But Keep Them On Google Photos?

Will Google Photos delete my photos?

if you have “Backup & Sync” turned on in the Google Photos app on your phone, they will be deleted from Google Photos.

if you have B&S turned off the photos should not be deleted from Google Photos..

Does deleting from Google Photos delete from phone?

If you delete images from Google Photos (photos.google.com), they will be deleted from all devices, such as your phone, that are set to sync with Google Photos. So the short answer to your question, Tony, is that you can’t do what you’d like (not easily, in any case).

Do Google Photos take up room on your phone?

Launched in 2015, Google Photos is a tool that can store photos, videos and screenshots taken by your phone. It’s a solid media backup to have at your disposal. And, because it’s a cloud-based tool, it can free up space on your phone. Plus, it works on both Android and iOS devices.

How do I delete photos from my iPhone but keep them in an album?

If you’d like photos to disappear from the camera roll but stay in your albums, then you need to hide them:Open the Photos app.Tap on “Photos”Zoom in to the “Moments” view.Tap on “Select” (top right)Tap on the share icon (square with upward facing arrow)Tap on “Hide”Tap on “Hide xxx Photos”

Where do my photos go when I free up space?

Free up space on your Android deviceOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .Sign in to your Google Account.Tap your account profile photo or initial Photos settings. … You’ll see how much space will be freed up. … To see your photos and videos, go to photos.google.com or open the Google Photos app .

Do Google Photos stay forever?

Your photos will automatically be added to library 2, but not deleted when you delete from library 1. That at least is a safeguard against loosing them by accidentally deleting from account 1.

How do I delete photos from my phone but not Google Drive?

Open the Photos app on your Android device. Open the photo you want to remove from your device but keep on Google Drive. Tap the overflow button at the top right and select ‘Delete device copy’ from the menu. This will remove the photo from your device but still keep a copy of it in Google Drive.

What happens to my photos if I delete Google Photos?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

Can I delete photos from iCloud if I have Google Photos?

Google Photos comes with a native feature to delete device copy of photos to free up internal space on both Android and iPhone. It is known as Free up space. … You will see the cloud copy on your phone. This method is safe as only those photos will be removed that are backed up in the cloud successfully.

Does deleting pictures from iPhone delete from iCloud?

When you delete a photo or video from your Photos app, it also deletes from your iCloud Photos and iCloud storage. You can recover your photos and videos from the Recently Deleted album for 30 days.

Can I delete photos from iPhone and keep them in Google Photos?

Free up device storage: Open the Google Photos app on your iPhone. Tap on Free up space from the side menu, and tap the Delete button to remove those photos from your device. The deleted photos will still be backed up in Google Photos.

How do I delete photos from my phone only?

Delete selected device copy photos from the device in the photos menuOpen the Google Photos app on your mobile device .Select one or more photos that are on the device.At the top right, tap on the “3 dots” menu icon.Select Delete Device Copy.More items…

How do I permanently delete photos from my phone?

To permanently delete an item from your device:On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .Sign in to your Google Account.Select the items you want to delete from your Android phone or tablet.In the top right, tap More Delete from device.

Is it safe to save photos in Google Photos?

Overall Google Photos is fairly secure. … People won’t be able to google for them. The pictures that you upload are only viewable by you — unless, of course, you share them with other people. But it’s always best to check some of the privacy settings and make sure it’s a level you’re comfortable with.